Scientific Advisory Board

bastienProf. Bastien Castagner

Scientific Advisor and co-founder

Prof. Castagner is currently Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Medicine of McGill University. He earned his PhD in organic chemistry from Columbia University in 2004 and then joined the group of Prof. Peter Seeberger at the ETH in Zurich to pursue automated carbohydrate synthesis, where he developed chemical tools for the study of glycobiology as a Postdoc. In 2009, he became Group Leader in the Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the ETH Zurich under the mentorship of Prof. Jean-Christophe Leroux. There, Prof. Castagner developed an independent research program on drug discovery based on the inhibition of bacterial toxins.

Prof. Jean-Christophe Leroux

Scientific advisor and co-founder

Prof. Leroux is an internationally acclaimed leader in pharmaceutical technologies and is currently Head of the Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at ETH Zurich, which he joined as Full Professor in 2008. He holds a PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences from the University of Geneva, and was a Postdoc at the University of California, San Francisco. In 1997, Prof. Leroux joined the University of Montreal as Assistant Professor. He is the author or co-author of more than 180 refereed articles, 13 book chapters and 15 patents/patent applications. He has received several prestigious distinctions such as the CRS Young Investigator Award (2004), the Steacie Fellowship (2008), the Debiopharm Life Sciences Award (2010) and the APV Research Award (2014) for innovative research in pharmaceutical technology.